How do soy sauce, tamari sauce and coconut aminos compare, and which one is best for you?
Soy sauce comes in light, regular and dark varieties depending on your preference. It has a strong smell with a smoky undertone, and a slightly sweet but salty taste making it great to add depth to Asian style cuisines.
Tamari is like soy sauce but the main difference is it doesn’t contain wheat. So Tamari sauce can make a great gluten-free alternative! Like soy sauce, tamari sauce is also high in sodium but you can buy reduced sodium varieties too. Tamari looks, smells, tastes, and has a consistency almost identical to soy sauce. So it’s comparable alternative with the added benefit of being gluten-free for anyone needing this option*
If you haven’t seen coconut aminos at your grocery local store, here is a link to it on Amazon (aff).
The nutritional information found in this post is of a general nature only. If you need more specific information based on your unique situation please see a dietitian in your local area.
Always check labels to make sure that there are no trace allergens introduced during processing if following a strict gluten-free, wheat-free or soy-free diet.
Note: This page contains an affiliate link. This is how I keep Eatly sustainable. There is no additional cost to you, and I appreciate your support if you use these links. This in no way influences the suggestions or recommendations made on Eatly. I only ever provide links to quality content or tools that I trust.